Batay roosters - A passion and a country tradition

TRADITION “COUNTRY”

La “Batay-roosters” although legally prohibited, remains tolerated in the name of the patrimonial value (law of 1964). Raised, pampered and trained like real athletes, these roosters represent a real economic interest for their owners. This explains why even if the fights are bloody, there is only rarely a fatal outcome. The rooster must be able to fight several times, even several years.

With this in mind, the owner prefers to interrupt a battle, even if it means losing his bets, to preserve your animal. Because beyond the spectacle and the tradition, it is indeed the bets which are at the center of these demonstrations. With the stakes of the owners of course, but also the associated stakes of the spectators, the sums involved can go up to 400 or 500 euros.

Battles must obey strict rules and subject to a neutral arbitration. After the opponents have been let loose in the "round". At least a meter apart, the fight will revolve around rounds interspersed with breaks which allow to refresh the fighter, to clean him and to massage his muscles. The meeting will end either with a victory, either by abandonment if one of the two animals is too injured, either by a loser if there were no winners after two o'clock.

It is in the early stages that the battle is most spectacular. The attacks are aerial and the more precise shots, but for the neophyte, the show continues in the hall. The tension is growing, the cries of the punters become more strident and the atmosphere more and more energized reinforces the impression of participating in a privileged moment.

REGULATIONS
A rooster is considered a loser if it goes out thrice running round, if he refuse the fight or if he no longer in good condition to fight. A fight is considered null if none of the roosters has abdicated after 2 hours or if it appears that the roosters refuse the battle. It is then up to the owners to cancel the fight.

TRAINING
First step, every 8 days, 10 to 15 minute exercises or alternate jumps, loss of balance, races to strengthen the legs and wings and manual stimulation to learn to peck. Then every 15 days, small initiation fights from 20 to 25 minutes. Finally, in some cases, real private fights between roosters from different farms. It will take between 10 and 12 months so that the rooster is fit to compete.

ATMOSPHERE
Le gallodrome is dark, bathed in a strong scent of fried chicken. Around the “round”, against a background of strident “cocoricos”, the cries are heard, “30 against 10 on the Striped”, “A moi le jaune” _ In the center, the fighters jump, cross and tear in an astonishing mixture of lively colors. The crowd, especially male and overexcited, the atmosphere is overheated. The “batay-coqs” has started.

ORIGINE
The first cockfights were undoubtedly imported to the island by the slaves and indentures of India who populated the meeting, bringing with them their rites and traditions.

 

Find our Boy's “Batay Coq” T-shirt in store and on our website.

Leave a comment

EnglishFrançaisDeutsch

Batay coqs – Une passion et une tradition pays

TRADITION “PAYS”

La “batay-coqs” quoique légalement interdite, reste tolérée au nom de la valeur patrimoniale (loi de 1964). Élevés, choyés et entrainés comme de véritables athlètes, ces coqs représentent un réel intérêt économique pour leurs propriétaires. Ce qui explique que même si les combats sont sanglants, il n’y a que rarement une issus fatale. Le coq devant pouvoir combattre plusieurs fois, voire plusieurs années.

Dans ce esprit, le propriétaire préfère interrompre une bataille, quitte à perdre ses paris, pour préserver son animal. Car au-delà du spectacle et de la tradition, ce sont bien les paris qui sont au centre de ces manifestations. Avec les enjeux des propriétaires bien sûr, mais aussi les mises associées des spectateurs, les sommes engagées pouvant aller jusqu’à 400 ou 500 euros.

Les combats doivent obéir à des règles strictes et soumises à un arbitrage neutre. Après que les adversaires aient été lâchés dans le “rond”. À au moins un mètre l’un de l’autre, le combat va s’articuler autour de rounds entre-coupés de pauses qui permettent de rafraichir le combattant, de le nettoyer et de masser ses muscles. La rencontre s’achèvera soit par une victoire, soit par l’abandon si l’une des deux bêtes est trop blessée, soit par un nul s’il n’y a pas eu de vainqueurs au bout de deux heures.

C’est dans les premières phases que la bataille est la plus spectaculaire. Les attaques sont aériennes et les coups plus précis, mais pour le néophyte, le spectacle continue dans la salle. La tension monte, les cris des parieurs se font plus stridents et l’ambiance de plus en plus survoltée conforte l’impression de participer à un moment privilégié.

RÈGLEMENTS
Un coq est considéré comme perdant s’il sort trois fois du rond en courant, s’il refuse le combat ou s’il n’est plus en état de combattre. Un combat est considéré comme nul si aucun des coqs n’a abdique au bout de 2 heures ou s’il apparait que les coqs refusent la bataille. Il appartient alors aux propriétaires d’annuler le combat.

ENTRAINEMENT
Première étape, tous les 8 jours, des exercices de 10 à 15 minutes ou alterne sauts, pertes d’équilibre, courses pour muscler les jambes et les ailes et stimulation manuelle pour apprendre à donner des coups de bec. Ensuite, tous les 15 jours, petits combats d’initiation de 20 à 25 minutes. Enfin, dans certains cas, de véritables combats privés entre coqs d’élevages différents. Il faudra entre 10 et 12 mois pour que le coq soit apte à concourir.

AMBIANCE
Le gallodrome est sombre, baigné dans un fort parfum de friture de poulet. Autours du “rond”, sur fond de “cocoricos” stridents, les cris fusent, “30 contre 10 sur le Rayé”, “A moi le jaune”_ Au centre, les combattants sautent, se croisent et déchirent dans un étonnant mélange de couleurs animées. La foule, surtout masculine et survoltée, l’atmosphère est surchauffée. La “batay-coqs” a commencé.

ORIGINE
Les premiers combats de coqs ont sans doute été importés dans l’île par les esclaves et les engagés de l’Inde qui ont peuplé la Réunion, amenant avec eux leurs rites et traditions.

 

Retrouvez nos t-shirt Garçon “Batay Coq” en boutique et sur note site.

Laisser un commentaire

EnglishFrançaisDeutsch