THE DIFFERENT CULTS AT THE MEETING

CATHOLIC WORSHIP
Catholicism is the most widely practiced religion. Successive arrivals are often baptized ex officio. There are about 70 churches all over the island. Some are famous, like that of Notre-Dame des Laves, which was almost destroyed by an eruption, or that of Sainte-Anne, which served as the setting for a film by François Truffault. In addition to Christmas and Easter, several pilgrimages dedicated to the Virgin Mary punctuate the year.

The pilgrimage of the Black Madonna
On May 1, the Reunionese come on pilgrimages to Sainte-Marie, in front of the Black Virgin. Legend has it that the virgin protected a brown slave who came to take refuge in this place.

The pilgrimage of Our Lady of La Salette
In September, thousands of Reunionese take part in the pilgrimage of Notre-Dame de La Salette, in Saint-Leu. To thank the virgin for having spared the city during a cholera epidemic, the priest Sayssac had a chapel built in 1859. It bears the name of the village of the Alps where Marie would have appeared to two children in 1846. Since then, La Salette is celebrated every year, on September 19, the date of the blessing of the chapel.

CHINESE WORSHIP

After the arrival of the first wave of Chinese immigrants from the Canton region in the years 1860-1870, a temple was built in Saint-Denis, rue Sainte-Anne. Chan temple, built in 1896 would thus be the oldest Chinese temple in France. It is dedicated to Guan Di, legendary hero turned god. Even if the majority of Reunionese of Chinese origin have converted to Catholicism, the will to perpetuate traditions inherited from ancestors remains strong. The island has five Chinese temples. The very last was built in 2017, in the Holy Land, on the order of Saint-Pierre.

The festivities of Chinese New Year and the birthday of Guan Di
Popular in january or february depending on the year, Chinese New Year's Day is celebrated with the family at the temple, but also in all the businesses run by the descendants of Chinese immigrants. In July, it's Guan Di's birthday. The festivities take place in the temples of Saint-Denis and Saint-Pierre as well as in the streets, with parades, dances and events. For the birthday meal, we eat 9 dishes, a lucky number.

It's new !
One tTibetan Buddhist temple opened in Montvert Les Hauts in September 2019. It is the very first in the Indian Ocean zone.

MUSLIM WORSHIP
On the island, it is customary to call Reunion Islanders of the Muslim faith Zarab '. In fact, the first Muslims to arrive on the island in the XNUMXth century were Indians from Gujarat. Islam is also practiced by the Karanes, originally from Madagascar, as well as the Mahorais and Comorians who came to settle on the island. The island has about ten mosques. That of St. Louis, all blue, is one of the most beautiful.

ID-UL-ADHA KEBIR 
This feast commemorates the faith of Ibrahim (Abraham in the Judeo-Christian tradition) who had agreed to sacrifice his son Ishmael by order of God. The feast of sacrifice marks the end of Hajj, the pilgrimage to Mecca. Small local peculiarity: it happens that oxen are sacrificed instead of sheep.

ID-UL-FITR
This feast marks the end of Ramadan, the holy month of fasting. On this occasion, big prayers and shared meals are organized in particular in Saint-Denis and Saint-Pierre.

HINDU WORSHIP
Hinduism is practiced by about a quarter of Reunion Islanders, the first “Malbars”, the name given to Indian immigrants, brought with them rural traditions from Tamil Nadu. The island has less than ten large temples, but an incalculable number of chapels.

La walk on fire
After having observed a strict Lent, the penitents go through a brazier as a sign of devolution to the goddess Pandialé. The ceremony ends with animal sacrifices. In janvier (but also throughout the year).

Le dipavali
The festival of lights symbolizes the victory of good over evil. Do not miss the parades of floats, concerts and entertainment throughout the island. The most famous parade remains that of Saint-André. In October / November.

Le cavadee
At the end of the 10-day feast, dedicated to Muruga, the penitents begin a procession carrying the cavadee, a decorated wooden portico. They often have their bodies pierced with needles, as a sign of devotion. In January / February.

Le tamil new year
The Puthandu is the day when god Brahma began the creation of the universe. Parades, concerts and events are organized for the occasion. In April.

Leave a comment

EnglishFrançaisDeutsch

LES DIFFÉRENTS CULTES À LA RÉUNION

CULTE CATHOLIQUE
Le catholicisme est la religion la plus pratiquée. Les arrivants successifs étant souvent baptisés d’office. On compte environ 70 églises sur toute l’île. Certaines sont célèbres, comme celle de Notre-Dame des Laves, qui a failli être détruite par une éruption, ou celle de Sainte-Anne, qui a servi de décor à un film de François Truffault. En plus des fêtes de Noël ou Pâques, plusieurs pèlerinages dédiés à la Vierge Marie viennent rythmer l’année.

Le pèlerinage de la Vierge Noire
Le 1er mai, les Réunionnais viennent en pèlerinages à Sainte-Marie, devant la Vierge Noire. La légende raconte que la vierge protégea un esclave marron venu se réfugier à cet endroit.

Le pèlerinage de Notre-Dame de La Salette
En septembre, des milliers de réunionnais participent au pèlerinage de Notre-Dame de La Salette, à Saint-Leu. Pour remercier la vierge d’avoir épargné la ville pendant une épidémie de choléra, le curé Sayssac fit construire une chapelle en1859. Elle porte le nom du village des Alpes où Marie serait apparue à deux enfants en 1846. Depuis, La Salette est célébrée tous les ans, le 19 septembre, la date de la bénédiction de la chapelle.

CULTE CHINOIS

Après l’arrivée de la première vague d’immigrés chinois, venus de la région de Canton, dans les années 1860-1870, un temple a été construit à Saint-Denis, rue Sainte-Anne. Le temple Chan, édifié en 1896 serait ainsi le plus ancien temple chinois de France. Il est dédié à Guan Di, héros légendaire devenu dieu. Même si la majorité des Réunionnais d’origine chinoise se sont convertis au catholicisme, la volonté de perpétuer des traditions héritées des ancêtres reste forte. L’île compte cinq temples chinois. Le tout dernier a été édifié en 2017, à Terre Sainte, sur la commande de Saint-Pierre.

Les festivités du nouvel an chinois et l’anniversaire de Guan Di
Célébré en janvier ou février selon les années, le jour de l’an chinois est fêté en famille au temple, mais aussi dans tous les commerces tenus par les descendants d’immigrés chinois. En juillet, c’est l’anniversaire de Guan Di. Les festivités se déroulent autant dans les temples de Saint-Denis et Saint-Pierre que dans les rues, avec des défilés, danses et animations. Pour le repas d’anniversaire, on mange 9 plats, un chiffre porte-bonheur.

C’est nouveau !
Un temple bouddhiste tibétain a ouvert ses portes à Montvert Les Hauts en septembre 2019. C’est le tout premier de la zone Océan Indien.

CULTE MUSULMAN
Dans l’île, on a pour habitude d’appeler les Réunionnais de confession musulmane des Zarab’. En réalité, les premiers musulmans arrivés dans l’île au XIXe siècle étaient des Indiens, originaires du Gujarat. L’islam est aussi pratiqué par les Karanes, originaires de Madagascar, ainsi que les Mahorais et les Comoriens venus s’installer dans l’île. L’île compte une dizaine de mosquées. Celle de Saint-Louis, toute bleue, compte parmi les plus belles.

ID-UL-ADHA KEBIR 
Cette fête commémore la foi d’Ibrahim (Abraham dans la tradition judéo-chrétienne) qui avait accepté de sacrifier son fils Ismaël sur ordre de Dieu. La fête du sacrifice marque la fin du Hadj, le pèlerinage à la Mecque. Petite particularité locale : il arrive que des boeufs soient sacrifiés à la place des moutons.

ID-UL-FITR
Cette fête marque la fin du Ramadan, le mois sacré du jeûne. À cette occasion, de grandes prières et des repas partagé sont organisés notamment à Saint-Denis et Saint-Pierre.

CULTE HINDOU
L’hindouisme est pratiqué par environ un quart des Réunionnais, les premiers “Malbars”, nom donné aux immigrés indiens, ont emmenés avec eux des traditions rurales du Tamil Nadu. L’île compte moins d’une dizaine de grands temples, mais un nombre incalculable de chapelles.

La marche sur le feu
Après avoir respecté un carême strict, les pénitents traversent un braiser en signe de dévolution à la déesse Pandialé. La cérémonie se termine par des sacrifices d’animaux. En janvier (mais aussi tout au long de l’année).

Le dipavali
La fête des lumières symbolise la victoire du bien sur le mal. Ne manquez pas les défilés de chars, concerts et animations dans toute l’île. Le défilé le plus connu reste celui de Saint-André. En octobre/novembre.

Le cavadee
À la fin de la fête des 10 jours, dédiée à Muruga, les pénitents entament une procession en portant le cavadee, un portique en bois décoré. Ils ont souvent le corps transpercé d’aiguilles, en signe de dévotion. En janvier/février.

Le nouvel an tamoul
Le Puthandu est le jour où dieu Brahma commença la création de l’univers. Des défilés, concerts et animations sont organisées pour l’occasion. En avril.

Laisser un commentaire

EnglishFrançaisDeutsch