Mixed race, did you say mixed race?

Once upon a time there was an island ... mixed. This island, it was called Reunion Island and, as if to honor this name so nicely found, and well imagine that Reunion Island is a living hymn to mixing, a tribute to diversity, the incarnation of interbreeding. So inevitably, we who are so proud of our island at Sorry!, we are also downright proud of this cocktail with a thousand faces, ten thousand colors and a hundred thousand cultures. At least all that!

Rest assured, we are not going to give you a history lesson, or even redo history. But still, remember. When, towards the end of the 17thst century, the work in the plantations requires a little very cheap labor, one brings in Africans and Malagasy (ah… the slave trade!). The latter bring with them, in addition to their life and their arms, their culture. So black-skinned slaves, soon joined by slightly lighter-skinned slaves, who come from India, also with their culture and traditions.

And then when, after the judicious decision to abolish slavery in 1848, it is decided to set up "employment contracts", then land on the island of committed African, Malagasy, Chinese, Indian, Malaysian workers, Polynesians and even Australians. Free this time, with a five-year contract in hand to be able to work and live on the island, all with perfect freedom of worship.

A name to the hair!

Do you now understand why Reunion is said to be one of the most mixed-race areas in the world? You know a lot of magical places like our island where yabs (white Creoles), Kaffers (black descendants of African slaves), Malagasy, Malbars (Tamil Indians), Zarabes (Muslim Indians) rub shoulders and live together. ), Chinese, Comorians ... Without forgetting, a little further but we think of them, the zoreils (or zoreys) of the metropolis!

A beautiful mosaic and a beautiful ethnic and cultural mix which constitute the identity and the richness of Reunion. Frankly, we could not have dreamed of better than this name, Reunion, for our piece of land. Even if originally it had nothing to do, but absolutely nothing, with this crossbreeding that we talk about and that we love about Sorry! No, for the little info, we owe our beautiful name to a meeting of Marseille federates and Parisian national guards. Nothing to see we told you!

Shaker island

Nothing to see except that Reunion today is a land of meetings: meetings of ideas, meetings of minds, colors, smells, landscapes, ages, religions, flavors, genres… Reunions of ethnicities, cultures, traditions, languages. Take French, mix it with a zest of Malagasy, a hint of Hindi, a dash of Portuguese or even a finger of Tamil and you get Reunionese Creole in all its splendor. That's why, of course, we love cocktails so much in Reunion!

Muslims, Christians, Jews, Chinese, Hindus, animists and even atheists live here in beautiful intelligence and in perfect harmony. And we at Pardon !, we love this mix, this diversity, this diversity and this variety. And we have a word to say "Crossbreed!" "

Leave a comment

EnglishFrançaisDeutsch

Métissé, vous avez dit métissé ?

Il était une fois une île… métissée. Cette île, elle s’appelait La Réunion et, comme pour honorer ce nom si joliment trouvé, et bien figurez-vous que La Réunion est un hymne vivant au mélange, un hommage à la diversité, l’incarnation du métissage. Alors forcément, nous qui sommes si fiers de notre île chez Pardon!, on est aussi carrément fiers de ce cocktail aux mille visages, aux dix-mille couleurs et aux cent-mille cultures. Au moins tout ça !

Rassurez-vous, on ne va pas vous faire un cours d’histoire, ni même refaire l’histoire. Mais quand même, souvenez-vous. Quand, vers la fin du 17ème siècle, le travail dans les plantations nécessite un peu de main d’oeuvre très bon marché, on fait venir des africains et des malgaches (ah… la traite négrière ! ). Ces derniers apportent avec eux, outre leur vie et leurs bras, leur culture. Des esclaves à la peau noire donc, bientôt rejoints par des esclaves à la peau un peu plus claire, qui arrivent d’Inde, eux aussi avec leur culture et leurs traditions.

Et puis quand, après la judicieuse décision d’abolir l’esclavage en 1848, on décide de mettre en place des « contrats d’engagisme », débarquent alors sur l’île des travailleurs engagés africains, malgaches, chinois, indiens, malaisiens, polynésiens et même australiens. Libres cette fois, avec un contrat de cinq ans en poche pour pouvoir travailler et vivre sur l’île, le tout avec une parfaite liberté de culte.

Un nom au poil !

Vous comprenez maintenant pourquoi on dit de La Réunion qu’elle est l’un des territoires les plus métissés au monde ? Vous en connaissez beaucoup des endroits magiques comme notre île où se côtoient et vivent ensemble des yabs (les créoles blancs), des cafres (les noirs descendants des esclaves africains), des malgaches, des malbars (indiens tamouls), des zarabes (Indiens musulmans), des chinois, des comoriens… Sans oublier, d’un peu plus loin mais on pense à eux, les zoreils (ou zoreys) de métropole !

Une belle mosaïque et un beau brassage ethnique et culturel qui constituent l’identité et la richesse de La Réunion. D’ailleurs franchement, on n’aurait pas pu rêver mieux que ce nom, La Réunion, pour notre bout de terre. Même si à l’origine il n’avait rien à voir, mais absolument rien, avec ce métissage dont on parle et qu’on adoooore chez Pardon! Non, pour la petite info, on doit notre si joli nom à une réunion de fédérés marseillais et de gardes nationaux parisiens. Rien à voir on vous a dit !

L’île shaker

Rien à voir sauf que La Réunion aujourd’hui, c’est une terre de réunions : réunions d’idées, réunions d’esprits, de couleurs, d’odeurs, de paysages, d’âges, de religions, de saveurs, de genres… Réunions d’ethnies, de cultures, de traditions, de langues. Prenez du français, mélangez-le avec un zeste de malgache, un soupçon d’hindi, un trait de portugais ou encore un doigt de tamoul et vous obtenez le créole réunionnais dans toute sa splendeur. Voilà pourquoi, c’est sûr, on aime tant les cocktails à La Réunion !

Musulmans, chrétiens, juifs, chinois, hindous, animistes et même athées vivent ici en belle intelligence et en parfaite harmonie. Et nous chez Pardon !, on aime ce mélange, cette mixité, cette diversité et cette variété. Et on a un mot pour le dire « Métissez-vous ! »

Laisser un commentaire

FrançaisDeutsch